Grant Writing Committee

The Grant Writing Committee is a working sub-committee of the Ben Franklin Academy (BFA) Board of Directors (Board) that works collaboratively with BFA’s teachers, staff, administrators, parents, Parent Teacher Organization (PTO) and Board to investigate, identify and assist in the submission of grant applications for projects aligned with the mission and vision of BFA.

Some generous employers offer grants to non-profits such as BFA, when their employees volunteer time.  In fact, some employers (such as Liberty Media or Arrow Electronics) will consider requests for funding only if the request is made by an employee. If you have any questions regarding whether your employer offers any potential grants, contact your Human Resources Department or send an email to

In the past, BFA has received employer volunteer grants from Qwest (now CenturyLink), Farmers Insurance and Bank of America.  Such employee volunteer grants are separate from employer matching programs for employee financial donations and submitted through the PTO.  Please see the PTO’s web page for additional details.

If you want to get involved with BFA’s grant team or have any questions regarding any grant opportunities, please contact the Grant Writing Committee via email.

Committee Members

    Sandy Graham

    Grant Committee Member

        Bill Castor



        Bill Castor grew up in Michigan and is a U.S. Army veteran. Bill has a bachelor’s degree in marketing with a minor in chemistry from Central Michigan University and a master of business administration (MBA) from DePaul University in Chicago with a concentration in finance. He also is a graduate of the executive MBA program at INSEAD, an international business school in Fontainebleau, France. He has spent the past 20-plus years in the energy business, leading teams that develop and finance conventional and renewable energy projects in the United States, as well as Europe.  He lives in Highlands Ranch with his wife, Mette, and their three sons.  Bill’s current Board term ends in May 2018.