Congratulations to the directors and cast of last school year’s production of “Beauty and the Beast, Jr.!” The show was nominated by National Youth Arts for SIX awards, and WON TWO awards!
We are all very proud of our directors, performers and crew who entertained us with a fantastic rendition of “Beauty and the Beast, Jr.” Ms. Johnson commented, “I’m so happy that all of your hard work and dedication was recognized! The cast and crew came together as a family and a team, which was evident to everyone who saw the production. Each and every member played a part in winning outstanding ensemble–congratulations to you all!”
Lead Performance (Junior Division):  Marin Disbrow as Belle in “Beauty and the Beast, Jr.”
Outstanding Ensemble (Junior Division): “Beauty and the Beast, Jr.”
Lead Performance (Junior Division):  Aaditya Bahl as Beast in “Beauty and the Beast, Jr.”
Supporting Performance (Junior Division):  Austin Hibpshman as Gaston in “Beauty and the Beast, Jr.”
Supporting Performance (Junior Division):  Josephine Shuler as Mrs. Potts in “Beauty and the Beast, Jr.”
Costume Design: Ms. Jaime Johnson, Ben Franklin Academy
This is the second year in a row that we’ve been recognized by the National Youth Arts and it’s a testament to our wonderful staff–Jamie Johnson, Brenda Bauer, Ali Hinkle, Laura Tickle and LaCretia Gelley (from Audience of One)–who put so much energy into each production, as well as the dedicated, talented students who are part of our theater program. And we have to give a shout out to Dylan Gregory who makes them all look good with his beautiful and creative sets. The National Youth Arts originated in San Diego as a resource for youth theatre, and has become a national resource for a variety of arts, including music, dance, film, and writing. This year, as part of their efforts to honor outstanding work by youth in the arts, they considered more than 700 productions in 17 states and the United Kingdom. 
Our talented BFA students just began rehearsals of “Mulan, Jr.” so save the date to see their show on Feb. 21 or 22.
Congratulations to all the nominees and award recipients!